UKC

Photography Survey results

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 niggle 06 Jul 2010
In reply to Henry Iddon:

Interesting.

> A large majority of respondents agree, claiming that competition from amateur photgoraphers (sic) is the biggest threat to their businesses (74.4%)..."an owner of a digital camera is not a wedding photographer and goes unregulated"

So what is?

Do we have to own photoshop as well? Lightroom? Is there a list of lenses we have to have to be certified?

I do quite a bit of professional photography and I have to say that I don't worry about amateurs simply because I'm better at it than 99.9% of them. I'm trained, experienced and I can reliably produce good shots.

But it's not that I can do those things because I'm a professional, I'm a professional because I can do them.
 Tom_Harding 06 Jul 2010
In reply to niggle: Did you just totaly miss the point?

> I'm better at it than 99.9% of them. I'm trained, experienced and I can reliably produce good shots.

People dont apreciate expensive photography anymore, and alot of ametures are far better then you.
 Tom Last 06 Jul 2010
In reply to Henry Iddon:

Wow £34,535 on average for a staff photographer! I haven't seen much of that :0

Interesting that it's only a small majority of photographers who believe the orphan works legislation will "significantly or moderately affect them for the worse".
Regardless of the unfairness of the legislation (I'm not disputing it) I was shot down on here for saying that at the time it would not effect me in the slightest as I was one of the many, many photographers out there who from the very outset of a shoot, do not have control over their copyright. It would appear that the 40% of photographers who "say it would neither help nor hinder their businesses" bear that out. It's just the way it is for some work, if you want the contract, you relinquish copyright ownership - if not, twiddle your thumbs.