UKC

ND Filters

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Andy Hudson 17 Aug 2010
Can anyone recommend/advise whose ND Filters to go for e.g Kokin, Hoya, Tiffen. Nothing too expensive at this stage as i'm just getting into photography (in a way other than point and press). If it helps they are for a Nikon D40X
OP Andy Hudson 17 Aug 2010
In reply to Andy Hudson:
bump

DougG 17 Aug 2010
In reply to Andy Hudson:

Sorry, can't speak from personal experience. But from what I've read

- Cokin ND filters have a bit of a reputation for having colour casts
- Hoya are probably fine

I'm not sure where HiTech come in price-wise but they are probably cheaper than Lee and if they're good enough for the likes of Ian Cameron...
 Blue Straggler 17 Aug 2010
In reply to Andy Hudson:

tangent alert...

I've never understood why ND filtering can't be done in-camera on digital cameras by varying the gain row-by-row and/or varying the exposure row-by-row. There would be an associated firmware and software development cost so it would be tailored toward the slightly higher end. I suppose HDR has circumvented the need and opened other creative avenues, but with electronic ND filtering you'd only have to take one shot for those standard ND scenarios
 dek 17 Aug 2010
In reply to Andy Hudson:
Go for the cheapest you can get hold of then, any colour casts can be easily sorted out later with digital. (It was always over exaggerated anyway).
sm1thson 17 Aug 2010
In reply to Blue Straggler:
> tangent alert...
>
> I've never understood why ND filtering can't be done in-camera

it is, thats what programmable ISO is, just you can only turn the gain down so far. as for gradient filtering (which i think you go on to describe) that would be an idea but it would depent on the sensor allowing the gain to be altered for different rows (or done as an in camera post process, which would be limited given the limited dynamic range of the sensor hence)

In reply to Andy Hudson: