UKC

Helmets for skiing?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 IainMunro 06 Dec 2010
I was a bit shocked by the price of ski helmets when I looked into getting one this weekend. Given that lightweight climbing lids are supposed to protect you from side on impacts as well as (moderate) impacts from above is it a completely stupid idea to ski in something like a Petzl Meteor or BD Tracer? I'd rather save money by getting a new helmet that is not only £30-40 cheaper than a dedicated ski helmet but that I can also use climbing.

I'm fairly new to skiing so apologies if this is a numpty question...

Iain
 James Edwards 06 Dec 2010
In reply to IainMunro:
Lidl has had good cheap ones in the past and no doubt will again in the next couple of months, check their website. Currently tk max in Inverness, and probably other branches also, has a couple of good cheap ski helmets. A dedicated ski helmet is better fitting and warmer than a climbing one i find.

james e`
OP IainMunro 06 Dec 2010
In reply to James Edwards:

Sports Direct in Inverness had a No Fear ski helmet for £20 but it didn't seem to fit, I'll keep an eye out for the Lidl ones. Apart from the warmth (which is the only advantage I can see from the ear pieces) are there any other advantages?

Cheers,

Iain
 kevin stephens 06 Dec 2010
In reply to IainMunro:
climbing helmets are as different to ski helmets as rock shoes are to ski boots. A climbing helmet is designed to protect you from falling rocks where as a ski helmet is for crashing into trees and being crashed into by out of control snow boarders. get a proper ski helmet and a seperate climbing helmet. Ski helmets are also good for keeping your head warm
OP IainMunro 06 Dec 2010
In reply to kevin stephens:

> A climbing helmet is designed to protect you from falling rocks where as a ski helmet is for crashing into trees and being crashed into by out of control snow boarders.