UKC

How long did it take you to lead a 6a?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Uluru 16 Jan 2011
My boyfriend has recently started climbing with me. He has been climbing for about 3 months and is getting frustrated that he hasn't yet lead a 6a or top roped a 6b clean. I honestly can't remember how long that took me, so I thought I'd ask the UK climbing minds what they thought.
 DreadyCraig 16 Jan 2011
In reply to Uluru:
i've been climbing (mostly indoors) for 3-4 years and i'm only just top roping 6a+ and comfortably leading 5+
 Quarryboy 16 Jan 2011
In reply to Uluru:

I toproped a 6a on my first day of climbing, I started leading about 5 months later and then I led a 6a after about 10 previous routes.
 euanryan 16 Jan 2011
In reply to Uluru: It'll take a while for him to gain enough strength to maintain a 6a lead, especially on an overhang.

Keep trying though and he'll get it soon enough

Took me about 4 years, but 3 of that was attending a kids club where no-one lead!
 HantsTom 16 Jan 2011
In reply to Uluru: A few months, going 2-3 times a month.

I hate the way people associate climbing around grades so much. It is a good way to measure progress, but i'd be much more impressed if someone waltzed up a 5. Then heaved themselves grunting and groaning up a 6b.

Grades vary so much from centre to centre, i can climb 6a/6b at my local wall. Yet 6 months ago i went to a different centre and onsighted a 6c quite easily, and i've only been climbing for a year overall.

The point is that he's being a typical man, wanting to do everything at 100mph. What grade you can lead depends entirely on what your strengths are, who set the route, how harshly/softly it was graded etc etc...

There is no way to put timescales on achieving a certain grade, some people could onsight a 7a after 5 minutes, others take years of hard training.
OP Uluru 16 Jan 2011