UKC

Easy multipitching sport climbs in the UK?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Pav 03 Feb 2011
Hi there all,

Does anyone know any places which would provide easy (4B-4C) sport climbing multi pitches in the UK?

I've been climbing for around 3 years now but mainly indoors. My top grade sport climbing has been 5A(UK) both indoors and outdoors (up to 6A top roping and V4 bouldering). We are really keen to do some sport climbing multi pitching in the UK but most places seem to be trad - not something we feel comfortable with.

We would really appreciate your help,

Pav
 Chris Craggs Global Crag Moderator 03 Feb 2011
In reply to Pav:

No such thing really, all the easy multi-pitch was done long before sport climbing was 'invented'. The stuff that was left was mostly steep and hard.

Chris
In reply to Pav: To be honest sports climbs of any length below 6a are in short supply in the UK and many are located in grotty quarries. To get the most out of climbing in the UK you need to either get to grips with trad or start climbing in the 6's and above. As Chris says climbing here has a long history and a very well established tradition, in both senses of the word.

Al
 Tiff 03 Feb 2011
I think there may be one or two in horseshoe quarry in the peak district, not totally sure but its worth a look
 Tall Clare 03 Feb 2011
In reply to Pav:

Learning some trad and perhaps looking at more technical scrambles could be a good way into low-grade multipitch here in the UK. There are oodles of brilliant low-grade trad MP routes around, so limiting yourself to bolted routes would mean missing out on some excellent days out.

Just my opinion, mind!
 tlm 03 Feb 2011
In reply to Pav:

You say that you don't feel comfortable with trad - but it is really well worth getting into trad climbing if you enjoy climbing in the UK. There is such a fantastic selection and it will open up so many opportunities to you.