UKC

Girl climbers after advice and thoughts from other girls

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Sparrowmonkey 03 Feb 2011
Ok I have been climbing for around 18 months now and I have reached a point were I feel a bit stuck.

I am about a lead climb VD/HVD grade, have done 2 winter routes grade I and II, been to spain and lead climbed 4+. Indoors I can struggle up a 5.

But I seem to be finding my arms get pumped and my legs don't always feel like I have the strength to push up. As routes get harder I feel the fear creeping in a bit with commitment to moves.

My boyfriend is brilliant and has got me trying strength excercises and endurance stuff (to keep me out of mischief as much as anything).I am sure it is a mixture of my body and my brain but I really do want to progess (to the point I talk to myself on routes)and at least get to VS.

Most of my climbing buddies are guys and sometimes I wonder if it is just me being that typical girl so I guess it would be nice to hear a girls opinion, how they overcome issues and have moved forwards.

look forward to responses if guys have advice thats great too
 staceyjg 03 Feb 2011
In reply to jojo30:

I would advise watching neil greshams coaching DVD which will give you an insight into whether it is your technique holding you back rather than your strength. It sounds like you may need a boost in that area, as when you have good technique you rely less on your endurance and strength.
 Scarab9 03 Feb 2011
In reply to jojo30:

not a girl, though I'm now expecting some quip about the length of my hair, but it's amazing how you can feel weak because you're technique isn't up to it.