UKC

cams - whats the difference

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 1906johns 17 Jul 2011
Hi all, im pretty new to climbing and i get most of it but whats the difference between dragon cams and the 4CU cams ? i don't have cams yet and i don't know which is best to buy.

Also, its a toss up between rockcentrics on dyneema or torque nuts - any advice ?

cheers
Alex
In reply to 1906johns: The 4CUs have a double stem (u-shaped) whereas the dragons have a single stem and are therefore more flexible so supposedly better in insecure placements. The dragons also have a double axle so have a greater expansion range per unit.
Despite that i find myself reaching for the 4cus far more often than the dragons. I just find them nicer to use and place (plus they are a lot cheaper).
OP 1906johns 17 Jul 2011
In reply to aretherenoneleft: ok thanks for that, very interesting, certainly given me food for thought
OP 1906johns 17 Jul 2011
the tearing point for me is the 4cu's havent got extendable slings...
 Si dH 17 Jul 2011
In reply to 1906johns:
double stem on 4cus is a major drawback. Personally I much prefer Camalots over either.

Dont get any hexes of any kind, waste of time. You only need nuts and cams.
 Yanis Nayu 17 Jul 2011
In reply to 1906johns:
> the tearing point for me is the 4cu's havent got extendable slings...

DMM 4cu cams do.
OP 1906johns 17 Jul 2011
this is probs a bit of a silly question but can you put draws onto cam slings ?
 TobyA 17 Jul 2011
In reply to 1906johns:
> the 4cu's havent got extendable slings...

Yes they have.

And the other chap was wrong when he said:

> the dragons have a single stem and are therefore more flexible so supposedly better in insecure placements

An insecure placement will be insecure regardless of the stem or frame design. Single stems designs are slightly better if placed with the axle aligned vertically, but this isn't very common - for example an open but shallow pod in an otherwise hairline crack.