UKC

NEWS: Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner - K2 Success - 8000ers Ticked

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 UKC News 24 Aug 2011
Gerlinde Kaltebrunner, 3 kbAustrian climber Gerlined Kaltenbrunner has become the first woman to climb all 14 8000 metre peaks without supplementary oxygen.

She summited K2 yesterday (23/08/11) by the difficult north ridge, which has only seen a small number of prevous ascents.

Read more at http://www.ukclimbing.com/news/item.php?id=63763

GrahamD 24 Aug 2011
In reply to UKC News:

I would have thought without supplementary oxygen would have been part of the thread title ! I opened it thinking good effort, but another self publiscising 'ticker'. Without supplementary O2, and not by trade route (if there can be such a thing on K2)is a much more significant outing.
 Mr Fuller 24 Aug 2011
In reply to UKC News: Amazing effort, but K2 alone is super impressive. I was under the impression that only one other woman (no idea who) had got up and down K2 alive??
ice.solo 24 Aug 2011
In reply to Mr Fuller:

several women have summitted, tho there is the 'k2 curse' where until recently all women who had either died on the descent or not so long after in other climbing accidents.

plenty of ladies attempt it tho.
 Conor1 24 Aug 2011
In reply to UKC News:
Obviously i can't appreciate the scale of this achievement, but it strikes me as incredible. i hope more details and interviews to follow.
The Scarlet Pimpernel 24 Aug 2011
In reply to UKC News:
The word 'ticked' seems curiously inappropriate for this subject.
 Tom Briggs 24 Aug 2011
 JR 24 Aug 2011
In reply to Mr Fuller:

It is a very fine effort. They have been on K2 for ages, I think they arrived mid June, good effort just keeping the psyche up given the iffy weather over there this year.

I might be wrong but I think that there's only one woman still alive who has climbed K2: Edurne Pasaban
alpine.sketches 24 Aug 2011