UKC

Single rope for UK sport climbing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Aaron_TM 13 Oct 2011
Hi

I'm fairly new to sport climbing and am looking for a new single rope, currently using a 35m rope which has been long enough for top roping small crags and sport climbing the cuttings at portland.

I did some sport climbing at Tonsai in Thailand and enjoyed some of the longer routes there.

I was thinking of getting a 70m and cutting it into 45&25m lengths.
Can anyone give me a pointer to a good length of rope for UK sport climbing?

Beal EdlingerII vs DMM Concept, any advice ?

Cheers

Aaron
 Skyfall 13 Oct 2011
In reply to Aaron_TM:

Is a 25m rope a bit useless really, and indeed dangerous? The one thing you need to be extremely careful about sports climbing is not lowering the leader off the end of the rope and 25m seems too short for comfort if you're not 100% sure about the route length or simply forget.

I generally find that it's worth having a short wall rope which gets trashed and a longer rope for outside which won't take nearly so much abuse unless you are doing a lot of redpointing/falling. In the UK, a 60m single is probably fine but if you want a do all rope to take abroad as well I'd stick with a 70m plus a short wall rope.
 Chi Cheng 13 Oct 2011
In reply to Aaron_TM:

I would buy a 60m rope and keep it at that, give you a good length to work with.

Ropes take a lot of abuse when leader falls, after a while you can still chop 5m (parts that take most abuse; knot and the part that hit the last Draw) off each end and still have a good length for most UK crags.

As said before 25m is almost not usable.

OP Aaron_TM 13 Oct 2011
Thanks for your input.

My thinking for a 25&45 was : keep the 25 for trashing on indoor walls and short 10m crags, then use the 45 for longer routes.

Are there many sport routes in the uk over 20m?