UKC

Noobies in the Lakes

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Little Rascal 17 Oct 2011
Hi all.

Me and my climbing partner have agreed to take out a couple of mates in the lake district, on of whom has 'done a few routes' and the other is a complete beginner.

It's not an area I know well, so can anyone recomend an easily accessible crag (short walk in!) in the North Lakes with good single pitch easier routes? (V.Diffs and Severs really...)

Borrowdale/Keswick area would be ideal...

Many thanks!

Jon

Andysomething 17 Oct 2011
In reply to Little Rascal: I've had a couple of trips here http://www.ukclimbing.com/logbook/crag.php?id=752 and found the routes more pleasant than I expected - given its use by groups. Five minutes walk from the Bowderstone car park, very user friendly, walk off with care from the terrace along the top of the crag which is reached in one pitch. Given the recent weather I wouldn't vouch for it being in condition - locals may be able to advise better.
 nastyned 17 Oct 2011
In reply to Little Rascal: Shepherds Crag, brown slab
 Leo Woodfelder 17 Oct 2011
In reply to Little Rascal: Black crag! Go and do Troutdale pinnacle, classic route and a great setting!
In reply to Little Rascal: Glaciated Slabs up in Combe Gill, the path up to it runs from Longthwaite down the road on the turn off for stonethwaite in upper Borrowdale (parking on a long corner, up the road and past the church and farm then turn left at a gate after 200m then its up into the combe). Several Diff - S lines, bout 20 min walk in but the views are stunning!!

http://www.ukclimbing.com/logbook/crag.php?id=760

Sam
OP Little Rascal 18 Oct 2011
In reply to Little Rascal:

Thanks guys. If we were able to do multi-pitch routes then Shepherds or Black Crag would have been our obvious choice. But as we are looking for single pitch Glaciated Slabs looks nice...

Cheers,
Jon
 Andy Long 18 Oct 2011