UKC

Bulging/Herniated Disc

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 peetay 17 Feb 2012
Hi,all. I've been carrying a back injury for about 4 months now. Haven't been able to climb, run, cycle or lift anything (even my 2 year old son) since i acquired the injury. Saw a physio yesterday and she's told me i've got a bulging or herniated disc (lower back). Physio has given me some advice and exercises but i'm interested in people's experiences (runner's and climber's experiences ideally) of this type of injury and recovery times. I want to get back running and climbing again as soon as possible.

Pete
 CurlyStevo 17 Feb 2012
In reply to peetay:
can they really tell that for sure without a MRI?
OP peetay 17 Feb 2012
In reply to CurlyStevo:

Physio seems pretty sure. I've got to go back in 2 weeks for further treatment.
 Caralynh 17 Feb 2012
In reply to peetay:

Firstly, yes, they can tell without MRI or Xray. In fact they don't use either, because pretty much everyone over the age of 25 has some degree of disc bulge and you can't tell what's new and what's old on scans. This comes from my cousin who's a physio.
I completely ruptured 2 discs in my back at the start of Oct 2010, with fluid leaking into my spine, and causing me to act as if tasered at random moments (I'd be walking/limping along then feel an electric shock type pain and fall).
I took complete rest (lying flat on a thermarest on the floor most of the time, with very gentle exercise movements). After about 4 days I could walk again, and had a 10 week programme of physio and acupuncture. My cousin said I would not be climbing or skiing that winter, and could probably only do gentle walks. I went back to work after 2 weeks and the management let me work on a car for a few weeks rather than an ambulance so I wouldn't have to lift patients. After any activity, be that work or housework, I'd lie flat on the thermarest dosed up on painkillers for a while.