UKC

Common Climbing Injuries

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 chris687 02 Mar 2012
Hi everyone,
I have a degree in Sport and Exercise Sciences and am a sports therapist (still in training) and am trying to hone in on some of the more common injuries that people have suffered from through climbing, mountaineering and mountain biking. I intend to dedicate a lot of time researching these injuries in order to find the best interventions for them. Any information you give will be much appreciated. Who knows, it may lead to your eventual recovery!

What is your most persistent injury?
 Yanis Nayu 02 Mar 2012
In reply to chris687: Climbing attracts finger pulley injuries and elbow tendonitis/tendonosis.

I suggest you have a look at Dave MacLeod's website.
 Milesy 02 Mar 2012
Rotator cuff injury. Been nursing it better since last summer.
 Cake 02 Mar 2012
In reply to Milesy:
Most climbers I know have done something to their rotator cuff at some point. Mine's not right after 1.5 years
luke obrien 02 Mar 2012
In reply to chris687: Finger injuries (pullies), tendinitis (elbow) and rotator cuff seem to be mentioned most.
 n-stacey 02 Mar 2012
In reply to chris687: feckin ear ache!!!!!
 Dark Peak Paul 02 Mar 2012
In reply to chris687:

'Golfers Elbow' for me and 'Tennis Elbow' for one of my climbing friends. In my case not very debilitating when climbing but a bit of a pain the rest of the time
 Trangia 02 Mar 2012
In reply to chris687:

Trigger thumb
 n-stacey 02 Mar 2012
In reply to chris687: If not strapped/taped my wrists do a twangy thing and give out a sharp pain.
 pec 02 Mar 2012
In reply to chris687: Probably not the sort of injury you're interested in but its worth mentioning that perhaps one of the most common (and most serious) is broken ankles.
I know more climbers who've broken ankles than all other injuries put together!
 Dean177 02 Mar 2012
In reply to chris687:
I have had both a finger pulley injury and elbow problems.