UKC

Achilles Tendonitis?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 stoo2k 04 Mar 2012
Has anyone else had any problems with their heels in the past? I've been climbing for about 3 years now and never had any real problems 'till some point in the last few weeks my right heel started to get really sore to the point where I couldn't even wear my climbing shoes (Which until that point had never been a problem)

The spot at the back of my foot where the Achilles tendon meets your heel feels 'squeaky' if that makes sense, but the feeling vanishes after a while. It doesn't feel painful in my trainers but ten minutes in any climbing shoes and it's agony! I've not climbed in three weeks now except one short session at the bouldering wall when I felt like it might be on the mend, but that was a really bad idea in hindsight.

I'm in two minds as to whether or not to go to the doctors about it, I'm not sure there's very much that can be done in all honesty. But in the meantime, anti-inflammatories and a few foot exercises have been recommended, anyone here have experience of anything like this and what you're looking at for recovery times?!

Thanks
 vincentvega 04 Mar 2012
In reply to stoo2k:

I have had achilles tendonitis, i was around 5 years ago.

My physio thought it could have been caused by wearing flip flops when i was on holiday!

When I had it, I could hardly walk in the mornings due to it being rested all night during sleep. The first hour or two of wach day was very painful, but throughout the day it did loosen up and become less painful, but I still limped very obviously.

I had physio, and I remember it took around 3 months to return to normal.

If you stand with your back to a mirror and your feet together then look over your shoulder, you can compare both achilles more easily.
When I did this, it was easy to see as one achilles, where it joins the leg to the heel was probably 2 or 3 time thicker than the normal one.