UKC

Breaking into E2 - routes in the SW

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 hms 14 Mar 2012
I'm just breaking into the E2 grade and have done a couple of soft touch ones in the local area (Shagrat at Goblin Coombe and Run for Home at Shorn Cliff). I'd very much appreciate some suggestions for other E2s in the Bristol/Wye Valley area.

What I'm after is routes that are lowish in the grade and with reasonable gear. I don't mind runouts as long as they co-incide with easier bits of climbing, but I don't fancy anything with serious ground fall potential!

All suggestions greatfully received.
 lowersharpnose 14 Mar 2012
In reply to hms:

Avon Gorge:

New Horizons II
Ffoeg's Folly (take some tiny wires)

Heartbeat City in the New Quarry is the easiest E2 I have found, anywhere.
 fatbuoybazza 14 Mar 2012
In reply to hms:

Ironsides Men at Shorn Cliff i think would fit the bill, low in the grade apparently(my only E2 to date so i'm no expert), crux is well protected if a bit strenuous to get the gear in, then a big run out near the top through what i thought were 4c/5a moves..
In reply to lowersharpnose:

New Horizons II is a well protected roue on a good line. Strenuous if you don't climb it efficiently.

Ffoeg's Folly is two pitches. The first is an HVS flake, well protected but slippy in places due to polish. The second pitch has a crux near the top getting into and up a small corner. You need some small wires for this, they are good.

In reply to hms:

Wintour's Leap

Yesterday's Dreams

Swanson Prelude - I thought this was great, some UKC comments suggest that it is hard and/or scary.
 Stone Muppet 14 Mar 2012
Isn't New Horizons II E3 in some guides?

Shorncliffe - Run for Home is lovely isn't it. Touch the Fire is quite easy if you put a nice high side runner in the crack to the right; main difficulties over by about 5 metres up. I've heard Second Wind is alright though haven't done it yet.