UKC

Blisters/Breaking in salomon Crossmax shoes?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Caterham 25 Apr 2012
I'm new to running and trail running in general so am after some advice.

I've always run in some old north face approach shoe things and never had any feet problems. Recently I decided to invest in some proper trail running shoes and after going to a local running shop, running on a tread mill trying a few different shoes etc I ended up with some salomon crossmax shoes.

I've done a few runs with them now and keep getting blisters on the arch of my feet. It seems to be where the sole joins to the side material of the shoe where there is an area of rubber material.

I have contacted the shop about the problem and they said salomon shoes do require a period of breaking in but personally I can't see how this is going to make a difference myself.

Has anybody had a similar problem with salomon shoes and if so did it improve over time? Also does anybody have any tips in the meantime for breaking the shoes in. I'm finding it difficult to run more than about 4 miles without pain where as I could run 10 miles plus with no problem in my other shoes.

sharpie530 25 Apr 2012
In reply to Caterham:

I have had similar problems with salomon XA Pro's, but that was when I ran without socks on a triathlon... the blisters were quite impressive!

The arch seems to be quite pronounced on Salomons which caused me problems. You could try a different insole, which may help. If you are wanting to stave off blisters while you work on breaking the shoes in, maybe try taping the affected area with some zinc oxide tape, will stop the shoes rubbing on the skin.
In reply to Caterham: I had some Salomon's and no amount of breaking them in resolved this problem. The simple fact is that Salomon are not well shaped for my shape of feet. Perhaps you have the same problem? Try a different brand?
 Banned User 77 26 Apr 2012