UKC

Drivable write off...

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
I have a question regarding my rights when a car I own has been involved in a prang.

The guilty party's insurance have admitted full responsibility and have taken car away and provided hire car.

My car has a dented boot lid that will not open.

Body shop has been keeping me informed of events and just told me that the boot pan and some rods are bent (as well as the boot lid) and the total repair will now be £3600 and he is awaiting approval from insurer to proceed.

What are my options if the insurer decides it's uneconomical to repair (car worth approx £4k)? but I would like the car back and repaired?

Are their any pitfalls that I should be aware of, and do I have any rights to insist that it should be repaired?

Thx in advance
swhitinguk 01 May 2012
In reply to Game of Conkers:
I'm no expert in this but I think it will become a Category D write-off.
 Little Brew 01 May 2012

My mother in law had what sounds like a similar accident happen 4 months ago. she insisted the car was repairable and got 2-3 other quotes and they finally repaired her car and it is still on the road legally and all that!

so in short, get other quotes, you shouldn't have let them take the car, you can insist they return it. oh and talk to your insurance company and keep them in the loop.
 DaveR 01 May 2012

Another option would be to let them write it off, and take the insurance money. You can then buy he car back off the insurance company and get the repair done yourself. You of course have to be confident that you can get the repair done cheap enough for it to be worthwhile.
 Dave Garnett 01 May 2012
In reply to DaveR:
> (In reply to Game of Conkers)
>
> Another option would be to let them write it off, and take the insurance money. You can then buy he car back off the insurance company and get the repair done yourself.