UKC

Flash Transmitter

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 mike_uk82 08 May 2012
Just looking for a bit of advice on flash transmitters.

Ive got a 5d ii and 430exii flash. Do I really need canons fancy transmitter or will one of the cheaper ones do.

I will never be a great distance away from the flash so range isnt an issue but ill want to be further than a cable will allow.

Any help greatly appreciated.
 harry1969 08 May 2012
In reply to mike_uk82: If you don't need TTL then don't waste money on expensive triggers. Just get Yongnuo 603's (which people seem to rate though I've not used) or Cactus V5's, which I have and they're brilliant. They trigger every time and range is excellent too.

Harry.
 stoo2k 08 May 2012
In reply to mike_uk82:

I just got a pair of Pixel Kings. 100m range, HSS of 1/8000s... bit chunky but fire perfectly every time. Probably overkill for me as I've no real experience of off camera flash, but I had £100 Amazon vouchers that needed spending. Still cheaper than Pocket Wizards though!
Ulrik Hasemann 08 May 2012
In reply to mike_uk82: The cactus v.4 works fine too. A bit cheaper than v.5.
 David Ponting 08 May 2012
In reply to mike_uk82: Switch to Nikon line of sight transmission is built into everything above a D7000!

More seriously, does your flash have an "SU-4" mode (that might be the Nikon term or it might be the generic term) - i.e. responds to almost anything that flashes?

I've got mine to respond usefully to a different-branded compact camera before; but on the other hand I've set it to that at a party and had it flash to everyone else's cameras, blowing out all their pictures. It's a hack, but it might be a short term solution for you.
 chris fox 08 May 2012
In reply to mike_uk82: