UKC

Which Rope for the Alps??

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 kozzi 04 Jun 2012
Hey, I am a relatively novice climber and have never been climbing abroard before, but this summer i am jetting off to the fabulous Chamonix valley to do some potentially quite long, multi-pitch sport climbs. The problem is i have no idea what rope i need.
Do i need half ropes?
What kind of lengh is nessecary?
Is it possible to get a rope/ropes that would then be useful for trad climbing back here?
Any advice would be much appreciated,
Many Thanks,
Nick
In reply to kozzi: Tough question. There is no rope that is ideal for every situation but in your shoes I would go for 60 metre half ropes that can be used as singles even though 50 metres is enough for every trad route I've ever done in the UK. 70 metre singles are good for European sports routes but the limiting factor is that you can only retreat 35 metres at a time which could be a problem multi-pitching in the alps if a quick retreat is called for (It's reassuring to know that you can always get back the way you have come if the worst comes to the worst and you can only guarantee that with half ropes unless you carry a haul line which has always seemed pointless to me). 60 metres is long enough for the majority of sports routes and more than long enough for UK trad.

Al
In reply to kozzi: Lucky you! I'd definately suggest some double ropes 60 or 70m. I have a set of ropes that are rated for use as doubles and twins which have served me well. Depending on your budget these might be out of the question but any double ropes will do for most beginner stuff in the alps and the UK. I certianly wouldn't consider anything under 60m, that's for sure