UKC

Climbing on the Ribblehead viaduct

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 tony 05 Jul 2012
Cool pic of a soloist on the Ribblehead viaduct:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/picture/2012/jul/05/1

Don't remember it being quite that sunny last time I was there...
 EZ 05 Jul 2012
In reply to tony:

I wonder how they did on the roof?!?
 graeme jackson 05 Jul 2012
In reply to tony: It's an interesting pic but doesn't it just make you want to kill folk that use fotoshop
 Red Rover 05 Jul 2012
In reply to tony: I'm not an expert but is it shopped? Looks like she's stuck on. And she seems to be in an unlikely body position, looks a bit like the Leeds Wall logo.
 DancingOnRock 05 Jul 2012
In reply to tony: It's 105ft high. She must be about 12ft tall.
 Boulderdash86 05 Jul 2012
In reply to tony: Can't see a shadow from her going by where all the other shadows are?
 kwoods 05 Jul 2012
Beautifully composed pic, albeit a bit heavy on the saturation.
 Red Rover 05 Jul 2012
In reply to Steve John B: Wow he really likes his photoshop! If this one isnt shopped then it would have been messy

http://www.chrisfrazersmith.com/index.php#!/photo.php?id=212
 EZ 05 Jul 2012
In reply to DancingOnRock:

Actually I don't think the scale is far off even if it is photoshopped.

Have a look at this vid: youtube.com/watch?v=q9OirN1e9W0&
At about 09:14s the chap is stood on the ground about 6 inches below the bottom stone and is roughly the same height as 3 stones. A fully stretched climbing pose doesn't look unreasonable at 4 stones in height.

Agree that is does seem an odd place to be. Surely a 'real' climber would just be traversing low to the ground?
 graeme jackson 05 Jul 2012
In reply to Steve John B:
They certainly look like they've been processed. If there's been no jiggery pokery then i'd be very interested to learn his techniques.
 Conan 05 Jul 2012
In reply to EZ: