UKC

Belay device for lighter climber

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Andy Mountains 12 Aug 2012
You may have read in a previous thread of mine that my wife has decided she wants to give climbing a go. Now she is quite small & a few stone lighter than me, and will obviously be a complete beginner at belaying.
So is there an ideal belay device I should get her to cope with this?
(thinking of my own safety here!)
 henwardian 12 Aug 2012
In reply to Andy Mountains: Sport or trad or indoor? Toprope or lead? 1 rope or two? Can you anchor her to the ground? Why not take her as part of a 3 or 4 first few times till she learns so somebody can safeguard your safety?
In reply to henwardian:

Not indoor, she's not interested in that. Trad, single rope. Will take her outdoor top/bottom roping a few times, then get her seconding me.
ceri 12 Aug 2012
In reply to Andy Mountains: Something like the simond cubix is good because it grips the rope well. However, indoors, you probably want to tie her down and i would wait for letting her belay outside until more experienced. Belaying isn't all about weight ( i have belayed much heavier friends) but if you don't have the body weight, technique is more important!
In reply to Andy Mountains:

Yes don't worry people! I will be making sure she can belay properly before climbing something which I might actually fall off when she is seconding!!

What I'm asking really is a belay device for beginners which grips well. I used a black diamond ATC when I started, and it was fine.
 ashley1_scott 12 Aug 2012
An ATC will be fine, ATC XP would be a better idea as it has the added teeth to increase friction.
You said don't worry about her belaying you as you will do routes that you ain't likely to fall on. I have seen people that climb E6's have a foot pop while climbing a V Diff.