UKC

Bumped into another car

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 El Greyo 11 Sep 2012
In a (hopefully) brief moment of incompetence I managed to very slowly reverse into another car the other day in the private carpark we share with neighbours. The car was a Volkswagen and belonged to friends of a neighbour. It's a small, shallow dent in the passenger door. I owned up straight away and left my details for the car owner to phone me.

As, until now, I've managed not to drive into someone else's car, I've no experience with this sort of thing. I assume that it would be better to settle privately, expecting that it would be a few hundred to repair and I'm reluctant to wave goodbye to my many years of no-claims bonus.

I've spoken to the owner and they said they would get a quote from the volkswagen garage. This worried me as dealer garages are usually very very expensive and I tend to avoid them. She then went on to say that this had happened to them before and the cost was in the thousands. Which seems excessive to say the least.

So I phoned the garage I use for maintenance, he phoned the body workers he uses and gave me an estimate (without being able to see the car) of between £400 and £800. The latter was if the whole panel had to be replaced. I can stomach that and it'll teach me to be more careful.

But I'm worried that the owner will get a high estimate from the Volkwagen garage and insist I pay for that. What would a Volkwagen garage be able to do that another bodywork repairer wouldn't?

So it would be good to work out what my options are; forewarned and forearmed as it were. Does anyone have any advice?
Perhaps I might be better to go through insurance companies?

Thanks for your help.
 tipsy 11 Sep 2012
In reply to El Greyo: