UKC

Bivi bag or tent?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Fredt 08 Oct 2012
I once had a Goretex bivi bag, but the condensation made it useless.
Looking to buy a new very light bivi solution.

Is eVent a step up from Goretex in terms of waterproofness and breathability?
What's the condensation like in an eVent bag?

I'm dubious about bags, so I'm leaning to these single skin hooped tent affairs, so recommendations please.

Thanks

Fred
 mikekeswick 08 Oct 2012
In reply to Fredt: The Rab ridge raider is awesome. I've been using mine for about 3 years and no problems yet. Condensation is always going to be an issue in bivvy bags but just leave the zip open a little and it's not too bad.
 nniff 08 Oct 2012
In reply to Fredt:

Breathing into a waterproof bag (breathable or not), be it small tent or bivi bag, is never going to end well, epsecially in an environment with a humid atmosphere, like the UK. Sleep face out, and learn to roll over if it rains so that the hole is sheltered.

Either that or get a Laser Comp with a flysheet and inner but which weighs about the same as a bivi bag. The latter may be as tough as old boots -but the former is not. You pays your money etc, but it's hard to buy a miracle.
OP Fredt 08 Oct 2012
In reply to nniff:
> (In reply to Fredt)
>
>
> Breathing into a waterproof bag (breathable or not), be it small tent or bivi bag, is never going to end well, epsecially in an environment with a humid atmosphere, like the UK. Sleep face out, and learn to roll over if it rains so that the hole is sheltered.
>
I still get condensation when my whole upper body is out of the bivi bag!
 nniff 08 Oct 2012
In reply to Fredt:

That takes some doing - are we talking 'soaking' inside or 'damp to the touch'? Bear in mind that bivying in the UK with a down bag is the path to misery - it has to be synthetic.

I can't see a single skin tent being any better though
 TobyA 08 Oct 2012
In reply to nniff: