UKC

Cheap Mountain BIke Options

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 JamButty 13 Oct 2012
I'm far from an expert on MB's, I haven't got one at the moment and need one for an event in March.
Looking at second hand <£300, so can anyone point me in the right direction as to good options.
Ebays full of them but I don't really know where to start.

Ta
 neil the weak 13 Oct 2012
In reply to JamButty: What's the event? £300 is not much budget to buy a bike for actual mountainbiking these days I'm afraid (even secondhand). What will it have to do?

ChrisJD 13 Oct 2012
In reply to neil the weak:

I'd disagaree - there are some bargains to be had on eBay in £200 - £300 price range.

Completed listings:

ebay.co.uk/csc/Bikes-/33503/i.html?_udlo=199&Gender%252F%2520Age=Men%2527s&LH_ItemCondition=3000&Wheel%2520Size=26%2520inches&_from=R40&Type=Mountain%2520Bike&_dmpt=UK_Bikes_GL&_mPrRngCbx=1&_udhi=301&_nkw=bike&LH_Complete=1&rt=nc

add the www. to get link to work
geologist 13 Oct 2012
In reply to JamButty:

Try going on Singletrackworld website, and posting on the classified's

Should get something from there.

http://singletrackworld.com/forum/forum/classifieds
 sleavesley 13 Oct 2012
In reply to JamButty: gt avalanche 1 on wiggle £400 instead of £800. Deore group set. Brand new and in your size!
 stewart murray 13 Oct 2012
In reply to JamButty: The forks are often a limiting factor on budget bikes as decent forks alone cost upwards of £200. I wouldn't spend money on anything with Suntour XTC, RST or Rockshox Dart forks. Decent ones to look for are the a Suntour Epicon, Suntour Raidon and Rockshox Tora or Recon. Rockshox XC30 are OK.