UKC

Should I be logging my climbs

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Pete Fish 23 Oct 2012
Hey up,

I've been back climbing for about three years in various indoor walls (Harlow, foundry, Milton Keynes and a couple of others) and whilst not great I'm doing ok for an irregular climber (6a normally, 6b at a push).

Recently I've taken a couple of friends from work along who were complete beginners and whilst I'm comfortable covering basic safety stuff and climbing I was thinking about going on an instructors course (CWA?) as it would increase my confidence in bringing new people along as well as increasing my knowledge of climbing.

Looking around at the courses they all seem to mention log books, previously I'd always thought of this as an outdoor thing so haven't bothered keeping track of what I've been doing.

So I guess the question is, should I be logging the climbs that I do each week? And can I get hold of a log book without signing up to the courses?

Thanks and hopefully that’s not a really obvious question.

Pete
 Landy_Dom 23 Oct 2012
In reply to Pete Fish:

Hi Pete

You will need a log book for any training of this sort. I'm not totally sure about CWA but for SPA (which I'm doing) you need a log of personal climbing AND of group instructing. You can use any spreadsheet type format - and maybe downloads? Or I (or someone else here) could email you a scan to photocopy?

You may get asked why you don't climb outside - there's a lot of fun to be had if you can get to a crag - sport would be the place to start as the technique is a natural follow-on to indoor wall climbing.

Have fun and stay safe!

Dom.
OP Pete Fish 24 Oct 2012
In reply to Landy_Dom: Thanks,

If you could send me a scan that would be great as it would give me the right level of detail that I would need.

Would you recomend logging every climb or just grouping an entire days climbs?