UKC

Fitting new brakes

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Richard Carter 30 Oct 2012
As I mentioned on another thread, I have some new bike brakes as I'm trying to fit them. I have several questions as I'm not very good with technical stuff, but I'm slowly learning - cables are pretty much the last thing for me to get my head around!

Well first of all the cables are actually only a couple of weeks old as I just had them replaced, so I assume they're good to use and I don't need new ones. I had a look and took off the old brakes, but the cap on the wire stops me removing the barrel adjustery bit. So I have two questions - both of which might seem like stupid questions!

1. How do I remove the existing cable cap. There's a bit of wire spare so do I just cut it above the cap?
2. How do I fit a new cable cap? I guess I can buy a couple on ebay and just squeeze them with pliers to hold them on?
 Escher 30 Oct 2012
In reply to Richard Carter: You might be able to reuse what you have, they are only crimped on witha pair or pliers or wire cutters. Try pulling them off with pliers and once you have recalled the new breaks try putting the cable ends on again, if they go on far enough just crimp then again with wire cutters or the wire cutting part of the pliers.

Even if you want to put new ones on you should still just pull of the old ones, no need to cut the cable.
 Escher 30 Oct 2012
In reply to Escher: Brakes not breaks, sheesh!
Cheers I shall commence mechanical fixationing this evening!
 Escher 30 Oct 2012
In reply to Richard Carter: And it was 'recabled' damn you IPad autocorrect! Good luck!
 Rollo 30 Oct 2012
In reply to Richard Carter:

ONly problem is sometimes when you cut cables the ends fray/splay in such a way the re-threading them is mighty difficult. You might get away with it though!
 LastBoyScout 30 Oct 2012