UKC

Exploration Geophysics Masters

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 James Malloch 30 Oct 2012
Has anyone done one, or anything similar?

I'm currently a Maths undergraduate who massively regrets not deciding to study geology. I've managed to find the said course at Leeds Uni which I would be allowed to do with a Math degree.

I have done Geology to A-Level but I was wondering what kind of Maths was actually used and if geophysics is more Math or Geology based? I'm going to an open day in a few weeks but thought I'd try to find out a bit about it prior to that. The modules are on this link, http://webprod3.leeds.ac.uk/catalogue/dynprogrammes.asp?P=MSC-EXP-GPH , if anyone was interested.

Any views would be appreciated.
 EllenW 30 Oct 2012
In reply to James Malloch: maths. Better that way round than as a (ex)geologist who wished they done more maths!
andic 30 Oct 2012
In reply to James Malloch:

I expect you will be well qualified, I do a lot of DFT and am jealous of those who have had formal maths training.

I suppose the course requires a good grasp of differential eqns
 rossh 31 Oct 2012

Geophysicists tend to come from a variety of backgrounds. Some come at it from a geology background and others from more of a physics/maths background. Geophysics involves many different fields of mathematics, e.g. statistics, vector calculus, inverse theory, partial differential equations. Some geophysicists are essentially mathematicians applying mathematical methods to geophysical problems, others like myself are more focused on the applied side of geophysics. So it is really a very varied subject and you can really focus on whichever aspect of the subject interests and suits you best.