UKC

Bouldering mats on trad routes

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Robbiobaby 05 Nov 2012
I'm sure this has been discussed many times before and if there are any recent threads regarding this please point me in that direction.

I was wondering what people's views are on using mats for trad routes?

I don't use one at the moment but I have had a ground fall which could have done some damage.

Do mats change the grade? I have seen videos of hard routes done with mats at the bottom. It feels a little like cheating but I would rather the safety rather than being injured and not being able to climb. When does a new shiny piece of gear that increases safety become cheating?

I am no pro climber or putting up new routes, first ascents etc. Just climbing for fun.
 remus Global Crag Moderator 05 Nov 2012
In reply to Robbiobaby: Theres no such thing as cheating. Of course using a mat can make the route safer and thus easier than doing it matless but the only person it really matters to is you, as you're the one who'll be hobbling around with broken ankles if it all goes wrong.
 Kevster 05 Nov 2012
In reply to Robbiobaby:

My life is worth more than one route.

Mats are fine if that's how you rationalise the risks you take and make climbing more enjoyable for you.
Mats are never OK only if you're a pedant/internet spectator/mental.

I've never come across someone who when putting it on the line has said "take the pads away please". There will be some, but they're getting rarer as time goes by.
 barney800 05 Nov 2012
In reply to Robbiobaby: I use one for routes with dodgy starts and don't find it to detract from my enjoyment of the climb. And you can still claim the full grade, as long as you get your second to remove it and carry it up the route like any other bit of gear.
In reply to remus:
> (In reply to Robbiobaby) Theres no such thing as cheating.