UKC

Meniscus tear (cartilage)

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
stevo 30 06 Nov 2012
Hi ya guys, has anyone on here torn there meniscus (cartilage) was wondering what to do while waiting for exact diagnosis e.g do you just keep it rested, try and bend leg I just havnt got a clue at the min I did it on sat medic at event and doc at AnE both think it's a meniscus tear seen an orthopaedic doc today but he wants me to come back nxt tues when it's settled down to assess it properly, at the moment it just buckles causing agony its so unstable never known anything like it, so was wondering if anyone had done it how long it were before you were up and about again, im a carpenter and need to get bk to work desperately but one thing that really concearns me is my future in the mountains!! So any advice would be much appreciated, thanks
 nniff 06 Nov 2012
In reply to stevo 30:

Ouch. I did mine about 16 years ago and had to have a tag trimmed off - arthroscopy et al. I was in a huge bandage for about three days, then hobbling on crutches for a while. I seem to recall that it took a couple of weeks before I was reasonably mobile again. It's been right as rain ever since, mountains, cycling, OMM etc but....

This morning, I went to see an ortho surgeon because the same knee is playing up - not as bad as before, but not right. MRI scan for me. We'll wait and see what happens.
stevo 30 06 Nov 2012
In reply to nniff: Good luck pal hope it turns out ok, you take ur knees for granted dont ya never again thing is 90% of time it's us active people that find it so hard to just sit and rest that ends up with these type of injuries n with winter season starting soon its proper torture never mind being self employed with a baby on the way need to be out grafting not laid watching men behaving badly box set!!
aligibb 06 Nov 2012
In reply to stevo 30: