UKC

Correct crampons

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
G30RGE 11 Nov 2012
Hi, I'm new to climbing and this winter I'm looking to get out for some winter walking, mainly around snowdonia. I've just purchased a pair of garmont vetta mt gtx boots for this winter and not sure which crampons would be best suited for my boots. Whilst looking on forums etc, I've read that I'd need semi auto crampons, am I right in believing that the crampon be stepped into at the rear of the boot only?
Anybody got any suggestions on a decent crampons I should be looking to purchase? As I've stated this is all pretty new to me and I'd really appreciate some advice off people with knowledge.
Thanks!!
 Wil Treasure 11 Nov 2012
In reply to G30RGE:

You won't be able to fit semi auto crampons on them. A basic 10 point strap crampon would be ok, lots of models to choose from. I'm sure someone here must have a tip for what they use with them.
 Lucy Wallace 11 Nov 2012
In reply to G30RGE:
Is this the boot you have purchased?
http://www.cotswoldoutdoor.com/index.cfm/product/mens-vetta-mountain-gtx-bo...

Not familiar with this boot, but there is no crampon compatibility rating mentioned (b1/B2 etc), nor a toe bail slot, which makes me wonder whether its a winter boot, so I'd be very cautious about which style of crampons (if any) you fit to it. It does say it has a stiff sole for crampons.

The most versatile crampons for bendy boots would be a fully strap on pair such as the Grivel G10 with a New-classic binding http://www.grivel.com/products/ice/crampons/2-g10, but I'd check with the shop where you bought your boots/garmont about crampon compatibility before buying.
G30RGE 11 Nov 2012
Thanks Will, it's all new to me so I appreciate any feedback.
Thanks for the reply!!
G30RGE 11 Nov 2012