UKC

Where in the world can I go in Feb/March?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 neilwiltshire 15 Nov 2012
Hi all,

Thinking about doing some guided mountaineering. I'd like to go somewhere reasonably high (4/5/6k) and the perfect timing for me would be Feb/March 2013. Is there anywhere in the world I can go at this time of year to do some climbing?

Happy to take any suggestions!

Thanks...
OP neilwiltshire 15 Nov 2012
Ah, I should say, although I've been climbing (inc. trad) for several years, I'm a beginner at mountaineering, doing a course in Scotland in early Jan.
 Tom Briggs 15 Nov 2012
In reply to neilwiltshire:

Volcanoes in Ecuador?

From the late Yossi Brain's guidebook:

"there are two climbing seasons in Ecuador: June through August and November to February. Allegedly, the eastern cordillera is drier Nov though February and the western Cordillera, June through August (though it is often windy). Cotopaxi has more clear days than any other peak in Ecuador....."

OP neilwiltshire 15 Nov 2012
In reply to Tom Briggs:

Thanks, I'll take a look. In all honesty though it would probably be back end of February and then through March so it may be a bit out of season.
 Damo 15 Nov 2012

Island Peak, Nepal
Aconcagua, Argentina
Mexican Volcanoes
New Zealand (lower but more technical)

MikeLell 16 Nov 2012
In reply to neilwiltshire: Atlas Mountains?
 alasdair19 17 Nov 2012
In reply to neilwiltshire: the Mexican volcanoes are cool and the culture amazing particularly if you have some Spanish.
almost sane 19 Nov 2012
if you want to go above 4,000m, and you would like something different, why not try the Alborz mountains in Iran?
There is a healthy mountaineering scene there.

http://www.mountainzone.ir/ is a good starting point for ideas.
OP neilwiltshire 19 Nov 2012
Thanks for all the suggestions,I started out looking into NZ but it doesn't seem like there's any (safe) snow in March there.