UKC

ice axe project

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
mannj004 11 Dec 2012
Hi im a year 10 student who needs some advice and ideas on making an ice axe. Come on guys help me out!
mannj004 11 Dec 2012
In reply to JLS: Thankyou
 wilkie14c 11 Dec 2012
In reply to mannj004:
Have a think about a modular system where the length, straightness or curved shafts, different picks, spikes and adze etc can all be swapped about so you have a true, do it all axe
andic 11 Dec 2012
In reply to mannj004:

ice climbing or walking? I think it would be relatively easy to make a CFRP shafted axe for a walker which would be mega light and strong
 beardy mike 11 Dec 2012
In reply to mannj004: hang on a sec guys, this chap needs to think for him self a little. That's the idea of the work! So mann004, tell us your ideas. What do you think is wrong with the current axes. What's your project brief? Do you have to make the axe? I presume you need to develop a specification, Or brief for the project? What's the craziest idea you've had for an ic axe and why would it work, and what would the problems be?
mannj004 12 Dec 2012
In reply to mike kann: my project is i have to look at existing ice axes and design a futuristic ice axe. I have to incorparate all the normal features of an ice axe but make it unique, so i posted on here to get some ideas and inspiration
andic 12 Dec 2012
In reply to mannj004:

Novel alloy (BMG, HEA, SIM/GUM metals)?

Novel features (incorporated flask, shaver, heated tip, heated handle.....)?
 Only a hill 12 Dec 2012
In reply to mannj004:
First, start off with why the world needs a new 'futuristic' ice axe design. What are the problems posed by existing models? What are their limitations?

There's no point in designing something futuristic for the sake of it. Good design will always solve problems in existing products and move forward.
mannj004 12 Dec 2012