UKC

when to start climing hills/mountains Scotland

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
edd78 11 Jan 2013
hi all

i am new to hillwalking done a couple of munros last year in the summer season. i want to know when is the best time to hit the hills again dont want to go when its covered in snow is is there any website that i can use to see if there is any snow at the summit i know Google earth does not show live footage. i dont really want to drive all the way up to find that there is snow on the summit making it a wasted journey and petrol

thank you for reading

edd78
 girlymonkey 11 Jan 2013
In reply to edd78:
The ski centres all have webcams you can check so that should give you a general idea what the area is looking like.
But, I'd say go and learn to do snowey stuff - it's the best time of year on the hills!! Get on a winter skills course if you don't know anyone who can take you out in winter conditions. There's not too much extra to learn if you are sticking to the main munroist paths. Snow is fab
redsonja 11 Jan 2013
In reply to girlymonkey: i would second this. the mountains are fab when there is snow and if you go on a winter skills course (plas y brenin are the best) you will learn how to both deal with and enjoy the winter conditions. good luck
 kwoods 11 Jan 2013
In reply to edd78: Agree. Either wait a while and ease yourself into winter or go on a skills course. Winter is amazing, give it a go!

To answer your question, mid-May is a pretty sure bet that the last snows will be gone. After then the snowfields will just be receding. But I've done the Fisherfields in a snowless heatwave, last March ... so anythings possible.
 Jamie Hageman 11 Jan 2013
In reply to edd78: Here's a website I use to check snow cover (and I live here!) - http://www.scotland-landscapes.com/mountain-information/scotland-mountain-w...