UKC

Looking for a reference book on linguistics

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
pineapple 23 Jan 2013
I am a new English Literature student interested in learning more about grammar and also literary terms, conventions, concepts etc. This is partly to help me with my course, but mostly out of a personal interest.

I was wondering if any of you are interested in similar areas and can recommend a reliable, (reasonably) up-to-date, fairly in-depth (not really after dummy guides) reference book in this field?

I am more interested in grammar and also literature terms, definitions and concepts than I am in cultural and historical linguistics. However, if there is one book that covers everything to a reasonable degree then I would prefer that over single books which only focus on one aspect each.

If anyone has any tips or pointers for where I can start looking for such a book (if it evens exists), I would be extremely grateful.
 Motown 24 Jan 2013
In reply to pineapple: The Cambridge Encyclopedia of English Language by David Crystal is an all encompassing text for Language, but is a bit pricey and covers lots of things you don't seem to need (but is a great and helpful reference book). David Crystal has a range of books - all of which are worthwhile, but things like his A-Z Language are accessible.

Michael Swan - Practical English Usage provides a comprehensive grammatical and lexical dictionary, but you won't find the literary terms.

Shirley Russell - Grammar, Stucture and Style (A Guide to A-level English) gives the mix you would like, and with exercises to assist, but is perhaps a bit basic.

Is this at degree level? I think the historical side (development of English is probably fairly relevant - perhaps more so than socio-linguistics). However, can't think of texts that combine the literary and language terms explicitly, but the grammatical terms can always feed your understanding of literature.