UKC

Skiing Questions to Consign to Room 101

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
paraffin 28 Jan 2013

For a starters:

"I am a complete beginner to skiing, but can I ski in my B3 winter climbing boots?"
 Trangia 28 Jan 2013
In reply to parafinn:

Haven't we also had "Can I climb in my downhill skiing boots?"
paraffin 28 Jan 2013
In reply to Trangia:

Q: "Can I Telemark in my ski mountaineering bindings?"

A: "Yeh, sure! Just let me get my camera out first."
 Trangia 28 Jan 2013
In reply to parafinn:

Touche!
 benka 28 Jan 2013
In reply to parafinn: Do blades make good approach skis?
paraffin 28 Jan 2013
In reply to benka:

Touche!

Also:

"I have a pair of Alpine Trekkers. Can I tag along with you on the tour?

AND will we still be friends after?"
 benka 28 Jan 2013
In reply to parafinn: Has anyone go any Silvretta 404s for sale?
 John Ww 28 Jan 2013
In reply to parafinn:

"What skiis (sic) should I buy?", followed by no further information whatsover.
 Brass Nipples 28 Jan 2013
In reply to parafinn:

How to get to ski resorts...
paraffin 28 Jan 2013

I can't be bothered buying, practicing and carrying avalanche beacon, shovel and probe.

Is it true the rescue teams can track your mobile phone signal and dig you out?
 Tim Davies 28 Jan 2013
In reply to parafinn:

Never had a lesson, can get down anything, can I do the haute route?
 Blue Straggler 28 Jan 2013
In reply to parafinn:

"Not sure that I'll fit into this scene. Is there a course in how to be a braying wanker?"
paraffin 28 Jan 2013

"Is it true that ski helmets cause more injuries and are just a trendy accessory thought up by the equipment manufacturers?"
macinboots 28 Jan 2013
In reply to parafinn:

"is there any snow up there/ your optimistic"
macinboots 28 Jan 2013
In reply to parafinn:

A lakes only based one
"are you going to Raise" even when your setting of from Kentmere as i did recently
 Mike-W-99 28 Jan 2013
In reply to parafinn:

"What did you do at the weekend?"