UKC

Becoming a climbing instructor.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Ellison5690 03 Feb 2013
Hello, Im just asking for advice really on how to become a climbing instructor. Ive been climbing for the past 6 years and love it. I'd like to share my passion with others and maybe use this as a gateway to working abroad. I like in West Yorkshire and I'm 22 years old too if this is of any use.
Thank you in advance.
Ellison
In reply to Ellison5690: depending on what climbing you have been doing, I would recommend with doing the Climbing wall Award (CWA) or the Single Pitch Award (SPA). both are nationally recgonised qualifications that allow you to work in climbing walls and the latter allows you to instruct climbing at single pitch crags outside. Take a look at mountain-training.org.
OP Ellison5690 03 Feb 2013
In reply to higherclimbingwales: Thank you. I'm mainly a trad climb and boulderer. Is there an award for multi-pitch?
 gg4419 03 Feb 2013
In reply to Ellison5690: MIA (Mountain Instructor Award) will allow this but you first need your SPA, ML summer and a wealth of experience on your own and with groups in as many different scenarios as you can manage.
In reply to Ellison5690: Unfortunately there is no Multi-pitch award as said above, this is currently covered by the Mountain Instructor Award. the prerequisite experience for this qualification is, quite rightly, very high and can take many years of not earning very much money unless you can get involved with some volunteer groups who will, for your time and commitment provide some subsidy towards the foundation qualifications such as SPA, CWA or ML.
 guy757 03 Feb 2013
Hi, the best place to start is with the Association of Mountaineering Instructors website http://www.ami.org.uk . This will give you an idea of the experience and ability you will need to qualify for the Mountain Instructor Award which is the qualification you need to take people multi-pitch climbing in summer.