UKC

Climbing... A white Man’s Game?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 liam 05 Feb 2013
The face of British rock climbing is very much that of the white male. Within the everyday realms of rock climbing, there are very few levels of non-white (specifically Black and Asian) participation.

I know I am not the first person to notice this, and I’m sure most people can count the number of exceptions to this notion on one hand.

I am a 3rd year Sociology student currently conducting a research project to try and examine the reasons for such low levels of participation of ethnic minority groups in climbing.

What do people think? Why do you think that participation levels are so low?

At the same time I would really like to talk to anyone who climbs and considers themselves to be from an ethnic minority background; if you are interested in either a quick conversation or email exchange I would like to hear from you.

Cheers, Liam Postlethwaite
 s.scott 05 Feb 2013
In reply to liam: Maybe to do with the spread of ethnic minorities across the uk. You'll possibly find less of them in areas of lots of climbing such a wales/lakes/scotland/yorkshire.

Then you should conduct the cost factor of time equipment and travel. Its an expensive sport.
 Lord_ash2000 05 Feb 2013
In reply to liam: White maybe but there has been a huge boost in the numbers of female climbers, maybe more so at climbing walls but that will feed through to rock climbing in time.
 GrahamD 05 Feb 2013
In reply to liam:

I think its probably because they prefer doing something else. I don't think that there are any blocks to stop them climbing if they chose to. Quite rightly, IMO, there is no special drive to actively encourage any particular ethnic group to take up climbing.
 Blue Straggler 05 Feb 2013
In reply to s.scott:
>
>
> Then you should conduct the cost factor of time equipment and travel. Its an expensive sport.

Are all non-whites financially poor?
In reply to liam: