UKC

Ben lomond

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Carlos236 17 Feb 2013
Hi everyone I'm pretty new to this seeing as I've only climbed one mountain whilst on holiday in Crete, but I was hoping for some advice as ill be climbing Ben lomond in a couple of weeks. I do walk but never really up a snowy mountain, I have a good pair of boots waterproofs and a good fleece lined jacket. I read online that I should take a few precautions so ill be taking emergency blankets and other emergency items, a good supply of water and food with me, also a camping stove for a cheeky cup of tea. I chose Ben lomond as I heard it was a good place to start and would appreciate any tips thanks.
 Chrismith 17 Feb 2013
In reply to Carlos236: Take an ice axe with you, a simple walking axe would suffice, and learn how to self arrest. Check the mwis and sais websites for weather and avalanche reports. Do you know how to use a map+compass? A head torch is a good idea, especially this time of year as the days are shorter. Are you going with someone who has some experience?
Jim C 17 Feb 2013
In reply to Carlos236:
As you are a novice, better safe than sorry, and others will say it's easy, which it can be.

Try looking here:
http://www.walkhighlands.co.uk/lochlomond/ben-lomond.shtml
A wee video from the top
http://www.flickr.com/photos/22776031@N05/6533098569/in/set-721576284786453...

Stick to the 'tourist track' (anti clockwise) and come down the same way , avoid the Ptarmagan route which is a little trickier, don't be tempted to follow others down that route.
Take plenty of warm clothes, I have been up a few mountains, and Ben Lomond is my local hill, but I have had some really cold days up there.

The track can get pretty icy, but can be avoided, however the grass to the side can have hidden ice, so on the way down if you don't feel up to crampons, at least take some of those slip over boot anti slip devices. I don't know how sure footed you are, so playing safe.