UKC

Reclaiming payment protection insurance from banks

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Static 28 Feb 2013
I am being bombarded with coldcallers offering me the chance to reclaim unrequested PPI. I really hate cold callers but I also really hate banks. So I am considering taking one of these companies up on their offer.

Just wondering if anyone else on here has tried this? Is it worth it? Ta.

knighty 28 Feb 2013
In reply to Static:

Just apply for it yourself. I'm no expert, but have seen in mentioned in places that it's very simple. These cold callers would be taking a not inconsiderable percentage of the money that you would be refunded.
 crustypunkuk 28 Feb 2013
In reply to Static:
I went through a company. It took them about six months to come back and tell me I didn't have a case. I then downloaded the forms from the FSA website and filled them in myself- took about half an hour to do. Four weeks later I had a cheque for £16000.
Moral of the story- do it yourself and save the weeks of waiting and loss of up to a third of your award, should you get one!
 jezb1 28 Feb 2013
In reply to Static: Do it yourself! It's super easy.

I've got 4 claims going through at the moment. One bank got back to me within 10 days with the offer of a cheque for £750

Visit that link in the post above.
 RockAngel 28 Feb 2013
In reply to Static: I had a call from an nice Indian woman trying to get me to claim back my ppi that I had been mis-sold on a bank loan for £5000 at a bank I had never banked with. I have never had a loan either. She told me she was based in Manchester which was just outside London! Im on the Telephone Preference List so I know it was coming from overseas. Now when they call up, usually at teatime, I start asking them a load of random questions instead of answering their questions and they end up black listing me and dont call me back
In reply to crustypunkuk:
> (In reply to Static)
> Four weeks later I had a cheque for £16000.