UKC

Ladakh peaks (in May)

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Kaito 08 Mar 2013
I am planning on climbing Stok Kangri in early May this year. I have a few years of alpine experience (self sufficient/done Mont Blanc etc). I have never been to the Himalayas before and would much appreciate advice from anyone who has climbed in the Ladakh region.

I've read that it is an easy(ish) trek in summer months and can be a managable peak in the winter.

I understand May is on the tail end of the winter season so advice on conditions / gear needed / decent maps etc would be very useful!
e.g. full down expedition suit or would just down jacket and a load of layers suffice for the summit?
OP Kaito 08 Mar 2013
In reply to Kaito: I am planning on getting a guide also. Any recommendations / approximate costings would also be useful.
cheers
 KA 08 Mar 2013
In reply to Kaito: Sorry for quick reply, but you'll get a guide out in Leh for a very reasonable price (far cheaper than anything you could arrange here). Back in 2001, I paid $25 a day for four days, which included food, cook and pack animal (I met two others out in Leh and teamed up with them for Stok Kangri).
OP Kaito 09 Mar 2013
In reply to KA: That's good to hear- I am on a bit of a budget! What time of year did you do it?
 stanleynkk 09 Mar 2013
In reply to Kaito:

I have spent 1 months in Leh last summer.I have done the 5days Malka Valley trek for 6000rupee (price for 2 people) as a warm up and Stok Kangril 3 days expedition for 5000 rupees (price for 5 people,including gears).
I meet some people on the trek and they told me that,in term of technical diffculties,it is more like a PD+ grade route in the Alpes.Dont worry much about gear, just the usual stuff you need for a PD grade route.

Feel free to contact me, if you have any problems: studentngkakiyt@msn.com
 Damo 10 Mar 2013
In reply to Kaito: