UKC

Smartphone advice & GPS

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Phil79 11 Mar 2013
I've been using a clunky old nokia mobile for many years and never been fussed about getting a Smartphone, principally because I'm too much of a scrooge to outlay the money every month. However, I think the time has final come and I would like some advice please.

Principally want one for all the usual smartphoney stuff – text, calls, web browsing etc, but also having recently stepped up the amount of running and cycling I do, I want one with a decent GPS so I can use one of the various mapping/logging apps. Already use my ipod for browsing/apps etc, but no GPS or I’d probably stick with that. Not bothered about the latest phones, as don’t really want to spend more than £20-25 a month.

Was thinking of either a Samsung SII (but I hear the GPS can be a bit iffy?) or an iphone 4S, or possibly an HTC but not sure what model.

So couple of questions - do people find the android to be better/worse than IOS, or is it horses for courses? Is the GPS quality noticeably better/worse on any modern smartphone? And is it worth getting a slightly older model (i.e. iphone 4s/ galaxy SII) or will I regret it when bearing in mind standard seems to be 24 month contract these days?
 The Lemming 11 Mar 2013
In reply to Phil79:

You could buy a pay-as-you-go smart-phone and as such not worry about a monthly contract of £20-25 per month. This does have its benefits provided you don't want to do a lot of internet surfing with a 3G contract. You can still surf on your phone with a WiFi signal though for free provided you have permission such as at home or a free HotSpot.