UKC

power lifting parameters

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
andic 27 Jun 2013
I started lifting weight in November last year I am stronger now. But have questions partly based on posts on UCK this week.

Miles is very happy with his 2xBW deadlift
Men's Health thinks 1.75xBW is elite
Ice solo says 2xBW is just the start of getting strong

I don't know my 1RM but it is probably about 200kg (based on 3*6@180)

So the question I have is at this point should I increase weight or volume? What do I want to achieve? Just to be a lean mean killing machine.

So what does a LMKM: DL, Bench, squat and particularly clean

If I have misrepresented anyone sorry just after some deas
andic 27 Jun 2013
In reply to andic:
I weigh 90 kg fwiw
 Si Witcher 27 Jun 2013
Hi,

These tables will give you some targets, according to experience and bodyweight:
http://www.exrx.net/Testing/WeightLifting/StrengthStandards.html

Did you have any joy with getting coaching for C&J and snatch?
 Si Witcher 27 Jun 2013
some more thoughts:

Are you cycling your routine and changing the emphasis and/or the exercises every 4-6 weeks? Eg volume phase (5-8 rep sets?) then strength phase (2-5 rep sets)?

Are you varying the types of lifts eg snatch deadlift, front squats, box squats, pause squats, narrow grip bench clean pulls, power cleans etc etc
andic 27 Jun 2013
In reply to switch:

A X fit place opened in Sheffield and I had some coaching there but I'm not much cop, keeping at it tho'.

Cycling shaking up, not so much. I feel like I have built a decent base wondering which direction to take now and how to get there, the charts say I'm intermediate at most things.

How are things with you?
andic 27 Jun 2013
In reply to andic:

I do do OH and front squats, love em in fact. But my gym does not have a power rack so I can only squat what I can clean (and press)
ice.solo 27 Jun 2013
In reply to andic:

im not expert but i lift for the same reasons you do (LMKM).