UKC

Swanage Guidebook - Fact or Fiction?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 The Ivanator 24 Jul 2013
I've been climbing regularly at Swanage since 2009 and in all this time the new CC guide to the area has been on the CC "in preparation" list and "about to be published".
It seems another summer is set to slip by without the guide hitting the shelves, latest publication date now given is 2013/14. I know Scott Titt (our BMC president) is the main author and he has posted on this subject before saying that he finished his work on the guide some time ago, so just wondering what the epic hold up is down to? Can anyone shed some light?
Having done many of the classics up to my lead grade in the areas documented by Rockfax, I'm keen to explore some of the more esoteric nooks and crannies whilst armed with decent topos that include routes put up in the period since the last guide.
 EddInaBox 24 Jul 2013
In reply to The Ivanator:

> ... Can anyone shed some light?

The Jurassic Coast Yeti ran off with all the preliminary drafts and ate them, the only thing left was a small indigestible section of Boulder Ruckle that Scott recovered from its dung, so they're going to have to start all over again.
OP The Ivanator 24 Jul 2013
In reply to EddInaBox: That's the most plausible explanation that I've heard to date!
You around next week? Would be keen for a Dorset day out if the weather is playing ball.
Ivan
 Mr. Lee 24 Jul 2013

Hi Ivan, I spoke to a very reliable source about the CC Swanage guide at the weekend. Release is expected for 2014, definately not before. I'm not sure of the specific reason though. I think it's simply not finished from what I understood.
 Mr. Lee 24 Jul 2013
In reply to Mr. Lee: