UKC

Racking -gate out or in?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 lordyosch 24 Jul 2013
I'm new to leading and I'm still very much experimenting with how to arrange my gear.

One thing I've noticed is that some people rack their gear with the krab gates towards their body and others with the gate facing out.

I've tried both and find 'gate in' easier to get the gear off my harness. Using a massive feat of logic I conclude that 'gate out' is therefore more secure as its harder to get the stuff off.

Am I right or talking twaddle? Is it really just personal preference?

Jay
 stonemaster 24 Jul 2013
In reply to lordyosch: Yes.... Good luck.
 Oceanrower 24 Jul 2013
In reply to lordyosch: Whatever you want. There is no "right" way.
 martinph78 24 Jul 2013
In reply to lordyosch:
> Is it really just personal preference?

Yes
andic 24 Jul 2013
In reply to lordyosch:

Just learn how your partner likes it, its him you'll be racking up and vice versa
 Rachel Slater 24 Jul 2013
In reply to lordyosch: Am I the only one that does both?
 knighty 24 Jul 2013
In reply to Rachel Slater:

You are not the only one! I find it easier to go gate out on my left hand side and gate in on my right.
 James Oswald 24 Jul 2013
In reply to lordyosch:
When I started climbing I racked GI and that worked fine. But then a friend convinced me that racking GO is superior because the gate's less likely to become tangled in clothes. Also, if you rack GO you can wires onto snapgates on your harness easily.
I changed to GO and I prefer it.
 Owen W-G 24 Jul 2013
In reply to James Oswald:

Gate in, both sides. Always have done, always will. Anyone who thinks otherwise is misguided.
 martinph78 24 Jul 2013
In reply to andic: Unless your partner doesn't lead...
 oliverk 24 Jul 2013
In reply to lordyosch: