UKC

beginner stuff in alps

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 dremelmaster 29 Jul 2013
Hi, I am planning a last minute trip to the alps in a few days. I am a complete novice when it comes to hills although I have toproped in the peak district and climbed indoors. I am reasonably fit. I am interested more in mountaineering and I need to learn the basics but also challenging at the same time.

It is a bit of a last minute thing and I have a £1000 give or take. i have lots of gear clothing/boots/iceaxe/crampons but never used any of it.

Can anyone recommend a resort/course? or should i just rock up in chamonix or the like and figure it out from there? i am a loner and have no climbing friends

thanks
 dutybooty 29 Jul 2013
In reply to dremelmaster:

Its been done, but probably isn't the best idea to jump straight from indoors to the alps, even with a guide.

Save your money, get yourself out climbing on rock a bit more, meet some people and learn basic ropework etc first. Then scottish winter, then move to alpine.

Alternatively, just rock out and crack on. Its what I'd most likely do, but I wouldn't reccommend it.

Finally, I'm calling troll.
OP dremelmaster 29 Jul 2013
In reply to dutybooty: i can assure you im no troll,i maybe completely clueless and have just spent 3 hours researching different courses without having a scooby doo what i want to do. Although from re-reading my post i can understand why you think that.

so many places, routes, courses...i need help/suggestions.
 dutybooty 29 Jul 2013
In reply to dremelmaster: I'd encourage you to go through the normal route, get out cragging with people, move to some multi-pitch, move to scottish winter, then think about the alps next year.

Its the norm for a reason. If you're motivated you'll stick with it for a year, if you're not motivated enough for it, then you'd probably have not made a summit anyway.

dylan_the_fox 30 Jul 2013