UKC

Metolius Ultralight nuts

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 sean1 10 Aug 2013
Hi, I am looking at adding some additional nuts to my climbing rack, a mixture of Dmm and Wild Country. I have been looking at the Metolius Ultralights. I have read a few reviews and they are fairly positive. My only concern is the lesser KN rating compared to other nuts. They are at 7Kn. My question is knowing that there is such variants in fall scenarios is 7Kn on the boarder of no worries ? Thanks for any replies.
OP sean1 10 Aug 2013
In reply to sean1:
My question should of read, Is 7Kn a bit light on the strength side for breakage and longevity ?
 Nick Russell 10 Aug 2013
In reply to sean1:

I've been using them for just over 2 years now and I really like them. To answer your question about 7kN... I've taken lead falls on them a few times. Consider the highest force you're (hopefully n)ever going to put on a piece of gear... how about a factor 2 fall on a static sling? I've done that too (long story.. I retired the sling) and it held, no visible damage to wire, solder, nut, etc. So they can take big forces.

In terms of longevity, one of them has a pretty bent wire from one second's attempt at removal but that's almost* entirely cosmetic and can happen to any nuts. Then again, 2 years isn't that long to talk about climbing hardware...

As for other positives (I know, you didn't ask for this...), they seem way more stable in a sideways placement because of the more 'square' cross-section. And because they're not swaged you can rack the entire set on one krab without them getting messy and hard to take off.

Negatives... Everyone else uses rocks and walnuts so may not like leading on your rack. They don't fit as well into the slots that have been worn out by generations of rocks and walnuts!

*almost because in one situation it did make removal pretty tricky as you'd push it up and the bend in the wire would push it further back into the crack...