UKC

Top Rope Solo change to Descent - Best Method?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 sdgreen 22 Aug 2013
I've just started out top rope soloing single pitch grit using a Petzl Mini Traxion connected directly to the belay loop. The system works well when the rope is weighted. I also have a backup parallel rope with knots which can be clipped in at intervals. This is in case the device fails (apparently it has happened). As I'm new to this I'm being ultra cautious.

My question is: if I decide I need to descend what's the best method? I figure I need to swap from Traxion ascender to belay device in abseil mode. I would need to unweight the Traxion at some stage of the proceedings.

Having got embarassingly 'stuck' only a couple of feet off the ground (& having to wriggle out of my harness whilst dangling..anyone seeing it yes it would have been a right laugh..not so funny higher up).

Does anyone have any feedback on this? (not the funny anecdote). Any promising methods will be tried out on safe ground with no-one watching. Thanks

PS I have tried using a Petzl Shunt instead but don't like this device. It didn't work so well ascending & I found it extremely difficult to enable it to slide down.
 WJV0912 22 Aug 2013
In reply to sdgreen:

Attach a belay device underneath the traxion and lock it off. Then attach a prussik above the traxion and clip in a sling to create a foot loop. Stand in the loop take the traxion off then lower onto the belay device.
 chris j 22 Aug 2013
In reply to sdgreen: Someone else will probably be along with an 'approved' method, but this is what I have done once or twice to swap to a belay device and then descend, while staying clipped into the system at all times. As well as your belay device to do this you need a short prussik & screwgate (as standard for a french prussik abseil backup) and a long prussik & krab (or second short prussik and sling).