UKC

Mountain biking in Snowdonia with a total novice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Reach>Talent 12 Sep 2013
I'm heading to North Wales this weekend and the weather is potentially looking a bit damp for climbing. Any good suggestions for somewhere I could take a total mountain biking novice who has a new bike to play with? We will be based in Capel Curig.

- I'm not too keen on a lot of tarmac bashing (I've got very knobbly tires and I also don't fancy getting run over).
- She has the sum total of 10 minutes of off-road cycling experience but is pretty fit (has an unhealthy interest in running).
- I'd rather the trails weren't too cheeky as quite frankly we probably won't be moving fast enough to escape from an enraged hill walker

A nice loop with some singletrack and some non-terrifying descents would be good although black runs and potential deathtraps will be filed away for the next trip

Thanks!

Tom Hutton 12 Sep 2013
In reply to Reach>Talent: I'd head for Coed y Brenin to start with to be honest... let her get some practice on something pretty civilised then perhaps try Gwdir Forest (Marin or other stuff) or even up on Conwy Mountain, after that. There's not a whole lot of good 'natural' stuff in this area and what there is is pretty tough.
Rigid Raider 12 Sep 2013
In reply to Reach>Talent:

Drive up to PYG and take her for a nice pootle along the track to Llyn Llydaw? That would be a nice place for a picnic.
 sleavesley 12 Sep 2013
In reply to Reach>Talent: beddlgelert forest is ok for a pootle around and is t too far away for you.
Pand 12 Sep 2013
In reply to Reach>Talent: The Marin trail at Llanwrst but just do more of the fire track.
 Chris the Tall 12 Sep 2013
If you get yourself a map of the area (or look at www.bikehike.co.uk) you'll find there are a good variety of BWs around Capel Curig - I remember riding a very easy track to the end of Ogwen many years ago on a fully rigid bike, so it can't have been hard.