UKC

Gym Workouts

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 goldmember 25 Oct 2013
Just changed jobs. The new place has a small but well appointed gym, free weights, machines and cardio stuff.

Going to aim to go for an hour each day. However im a bit of newbie when it comes to this, anyone have any programs they follow?

My diet is quite good dont eat much rubbish, like to get my 5-a-day.

Regards goals, it's my honeymoon is 5/6 months would like to be in decent shape, maybe a six pack.

Suggestions, flames, hints and tips all welcome

Personal stats, 174cm and 77kgs.
 Mark Harding 25 Oct 2013
In reply to goldmember:
Is your "decent shape" going to be orientated towards clmbing, running, cycling? Each would require a different use of the hour per day.
 The Potato 25 Oct 2013
In reply to goldmember: I suppose as a general workout tip id say work a different group of muscles each day and let the others have about two days rest.i.e. back day, legs day, arms, chest, abs etc. Also fit in some compound exercises to aid with core strength and add a bit of cardio. But generally dont overdo one particular exercise as muscle is repaired and rebuilt in the rest periods.
OP goldmember 25 Oct 2013
In reply to Mark Harding: a bit of social climbing. But mainly team sports.
With a serious eye on getting ripped for honeymoon.
Failing that a crash course in Photoshop!
 riddle 25 Oct 2013
In reply to goldmember:

If having a six-pack is your goal then you only need to eat properly. However if you have a more definite, interesting and somewhat less narcissistic (tongue in cheek) goal then train for it accordingly.
Personally I would keep your specific goals to yourself, after all that is why you are training.