UKC

First rope

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 climbwhenready 31 Oct 2013
Hi,

I've been climbing for a few months, and I'm thinking of buying my first rope sometime in the new year and I wondered what advice the forums might be able to give...

My budget situation at the moment is such that, for now, I want one rope for everything - indoor leading, outside toproping (SE sandstone) and I'm hoping to start trad sometime next year. Then in the future I can supplement or replace (depending on its lifespan) with more appropriate ropes for different climbing styles.

I'm thinking of a 60m rope. Don't need dry treatment because I'm not going to be out in the rain or ice. Having looked online, I quite like the DMM Statement, and my local climbing shop also said that this was a good one - but am I missing any tricks? Is there an obvious better first rope? Will I wish I'd asked for more advice in 6 months time? Should I be getting unicore?

Thanks for any tips you can give to a beginner!
 Otis 31 Oct 2013
In reply to climbwhenready:

Looks like today is 'new rope thursday'! A not dissimilar thread has started in the gear section today too - possibly worth a peek?

http://www.ukclimbing.com/forums/t.php?t=567737

Mike.
 sparra 31 Oct 2013

My first was a 60m which I still use several years later - too long. You spend forever pulling it through and I've never got near using 40m of it in single pitch or sport in this country. That's the advice I wish I'd heard before I went for it.
 Choss 31 Oct 2013

All ropes are equally safe i reckon.

Fancy finishes like Dry ropes are a con in my Opinion.

If you want a single rope i reckon Beal edlinger 10.2mm is as good as any, and at a good Price.
 Choss 31 Oct 2013

Oh, and Second Hand ropes might seem good but its a Critical safety item, so buyer Beware and all that.
In reply to Otis: Hmm, I did not mean to duplicate threads! mea culpa and all that.