UKC

Google Apps - Accounting

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Anyone used Google Apps on here?

I am interested in using one of the accounting packages to replace my dreadfully dated (and expensive) old software.

Alan
 Deri Jones 06 Nov 2013
In reply to Alan James - Rockfax: Have a look at FreeAgent, which you can connect to through your Google Apps account. UK based, simple to add stuff to and much simpler than Quickbooks/Sage etc for non accountanty types. My accountant seems to be able to get what he needs from it as well.
If you do go for it, email me and I can give you a discount code.
Cheers
Deri
 JR 06 Nov 2013
In reply to Alan James - Rockfax:

We use Xero (linked to google apps) and find it fantastic - http://www.xero.com/uk/
 JR 06 Nov 2013

I've no experience with the free ones, though I suspect nothing is ever truly free - and most on that list are paid subscription model. You've got to consider what potential revenue stream a free one has up their sleeve when it has just raised $20million investment .(https://www.waveapps.com/about-us/)

Transactions auto appear in your accounts (as I believe can paypal) the bank feed costs about £3 per account per month extra - you just fill in an form and authorise their apps access and xero do the rest for you (takes a couple of weeks) - Can also be linked to your billing system shops, CRM. They have a iphone app to take receipt pictures and raise expenses. We spent a long time picking as integration was one of the most important factors and this came out top. Haven't been disappointed yet.
In reply to John Roberts (JR):

Thanks. My accountant has just spotted this thread and rung up and endorsed your comments!

Alan
 JR 06 Nov 2013